By Our Corresspondent

Gov. Aliyu is facing more challenges than expected in the 2015 gubernatorial political showdown, as more powerful personalities are emerging to contest his seat in the forthcoming general election. He needs the natural admiration of the people and the support of the political and ruling class in order to avoid a calamitous crash-landing.

His anointed candidate, Hon. Umar Nasko, young and charismatic must work on some political issues in order to first win the primaries. One of the fundamental issues is how to keep the political party (PDP) intact after successful primaries. If he wins the primaries, he needs a united support of his co-contestants in order to prepare for the bigger hurdle.

Nasko is not working on this plan alone. Gov. Muazu Aliyu is secretly supporting and building the Nasko political network against the 2015 guber contest. To ensure the political machineries are intact and focused on the fundamental business of power, Gov. Aliyu was said to have set up a secret committee that will work out the Nasko 2015 agenda. The secret committee has the following as members:

1- Hon. Isah Liman Kantigi, former Chairman, Edati Local Government and currently Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs. He is believed by many to be the most powerful force in the governor’s cabinet. He was called to relinquish his former position of Local Government Chairman to join the cabinet so that he will be more instrumental to the governor’s 2015 agenda for Umar Nasko guber race. He will be instrumental to the governor’s agenda from the Zone A axis.

2- Alh. Yahya Hussaini Emilugi. He is a career politician and founding member of the PDP in Niger State, former Political Adviser to Gov. Abdulkadir Kure. He will be instrumental in Zone A Axis, especially in Lavun Local Government where he is currently contesting for Local Government Chairman under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

3- Barr. Tanko Beji. He is the Niger State PDP Secretary. Smart and articulate, he is going to manage the delegates as the PDP Chairman is bidding for a Senatorial seat come 2015. He is believed to be the chief strategist of the Party.

4- Hon. Saadatu Kolo. She is a Member at the Niger State House of Assembly representing Mashegu Local Government. She is a radical politician and will work in mobilizing the women across the state for the Nasko agenda.

5- Hon. Ladidi Bawa. She is the current chairman Bosso Local Government. Like Saadatu Kolo, Ladidi is an influential player in the political system. She is going to take the same position with Saadatu in the campaign team.

6- Hon. Abdullahi Maibasira. He is former Speaker National Youth Parliament and now PDP National Youth Leader.  Maibasira will work underground in mobilizing the youth for the agenda. Maibasira is expected to be influential during the party primaries.

7- Senator Shem Nuhu Zabgayi. Zabgayi will be in charge of Niger East senatorial district. He will defend the Nasko agenda against the APC factor under Barr. David Umaru’s control.

8- Barr. Abdullahi Bawa. He is the Niger State Attorney General. He has been one of the loyal cabinet members of the governor. He was an Associate Partner, Nasiha Chambers, Suleja (1992-1997), Lecturer, Faculty of Law University of Abuja (1993-2002) and a principal partner, Merit Chambers, Suleja (1997-2002).

9- Prof. Muhammed Kuta Yahaya As Commissioner for Agriculture, Kuta is one of Gov. Aliyu’s cabinet strong boys. He has held several positions in the government. He was former SSG, Chief of Staff, Commissioner for Information. Kuta will be instrumental in drafting campaign speeches for Nasko.

Prof. M.K. Yahaya started his academic career in 1993 as an Associate Lecturer at the University of Ibadan. He was later confirmed Assistant Lecturer in 1995. In 1999, he was promoted Lecturer I and in 2002 Senior Lecturer. In 2005, he was presented for Reader/Associate Professor, his research efforts have focused on Development Communication, Mobilizing for Social Change, and Design and Implementation of Communication Strategies, especially in Entertainment Education (EE). During this period, he successfully supervised sixty-two (62) undergraduates, forty-eight (48) M.Sc. and four (4) Ph.D. candidates. He is an author of several books in Communication for Social Engineering and Entertainment Education.

10- Hon. Victoria Jummai Jiya. She is former Commissioner for Youth Affairs and Strategy, a former teacher and a gender activist. She has worked in a number of places over the years. She was a teacher with the Girls’ Day Secondary School, Minna (where she was Head of Department of Languages) between 1985 and 1996; lecturer with the College of Education, Minna (1996 – 2011) and Head of Department (2004 – 2006); Director Conferences and Seminars (2006 – 2008); Director, Private Partnership Initiative (2008 – 2011).

11- Dr. Peter Sarki Honourable, Commissioner for Education. He is a member of Nigerian Association for Educational Administration and Planning (NAEAP). He is also a professionally registered teacher. He attended some in-service training, including Certificate of Attendance for a National Workshop on Effective Communication and Human Relations in Administration (March 1985).

12- Hon. Yusuf Tagwai Former Commissioner Chieftaincy and Local Govt Affairs, now aspirant for Federal House of Representatives under the PDP. He came into political limelight in 2003. He worked on the Transition Committee, Chairman, Tafa Local Government, Niger State New Junior and Senior Volleyball Teams (1980 – 1989). Thereafter, he contested and won the position of the Executive chairman National Volleyball Team.

13- Alh. Hassan Lawal Abdullahi. He is Commissioner for Commerce and former Commissioner for Sports Development. Hassan Abdullahi has served in different offices before now: He was a Principal Legislative Aide, National Assembly, Abuja (2004-2007); Senior Special Assistant State Government on Investment (2008- 2009); Honourable Commissioner, Ministry of Investment, Commerce and Cooperative, Minna (2009); Honourable Commissioner, Ministry of Lands, Transport, Aviation and Water inland ways (2009-2010); and Honourable Commissioner, Ministry of Lands and Housing (2010-2011).

He also served as Chairman of many Committees: Chairman, Committee to revitalize the Railway Line in Niger State (2008); Chairman, Niger State Depot Committee (2009); Chairman, Technical Committee on the Development of Gwaran Industrial Park (2009), Secretary, Technical Committee on Commerce, Industry and Tourism (2008); Secretary, Committee on Ethanol Production (2007); a Member, Niger State Economic Management Committee (2009); Member, Committee on Biometrics Data Verification Exercise (2007); Member, Niger State Transition Committee (2011); and Member Committee on e-Government (2008).

Abdullahi was also Member, Public Private Partnership Unit, Head of Niger State Delegation to the 1st Malaysian-Nigerian Trade Forum held on 13th November in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (2007).

14- Hon. Saidu Idris Kpaki. He is the current Secretary to the Niger State Government and one of the forces that will handle the Zone A axis for the Nasko campaign.

This is the confidential political campaign committee set up by Gov. Aliyu to deliver Umar Nasko’s gubernatorial bid in the forthcoming 2015 election in Niger State.

Leave a Reply